Battlezone 8

I’m excited beyond belief for Battlezone 8 in Neptune Stadium, Cork on Saturday July 6th. Battlezone 7 earlier in the year was such a great show. Carried by Setanta Sports, Battlezone has the opportunity to become the top Irish MMA promotion after the Cage Contender debacle this month.

The 22 fight card is stacked, featuring athletes from representing all four provinces along with an American turned Corkman.

There are four scheduled title fights on the card. The main event with Nick Laney facing Richard ‘Souza’ Gorey looks to be a killer fight. Laney recently dispatched Sylvester Chwaszcza from Shootfighters in less than a round and will be looking to extend his record to 6 – 1. Gorey looks to snap a two-fight skid with this.

The semi-main with Brian Moore taking on Richie Edgeworth for the lightweight title might be taking home fight of the night honours. Moore is looking to make it two titles from two fights after beating Josh Ramage for the Cage Godz crown earlier this year. Edgeworth is coming off his first loss in his professional career. After a year off he’ll be gunning for a victory here.

I’m gonna be doing interviews all the way up to the show so keep your eyes peeled for those.

Full Fight Card as of tonight:

Welterweight Pro Title Fight:

Nick Laney (MMA Clinic) vs Richard Gorey (BJJ Cork)

Pro Featherweight Title Fight:

Ricky Edgeworth (Team Ryano) vs Brian Moore (SBG)

Pro Lightweight Division:

Yuri Malko (MMA Clinic) vs Peter Queally (SBG)

Pro Lightweight Division:

Magic Myles Price (Magic MMA) vs Vlad Malko (Siam Warriors)

Pro Featherweight Division:

Sean “The Machine” Tobin (MMA Clinic) vs Peter Doyle (TEAM RYANO/BJJ REVOLUTION TEAM)

Welterweight Amateur Title Fight

Ciaran Daly (MMA Clinic) vs Anzor Astaev (Ryoshin MMA Lucan)

Amateur Featherweight Title Fight:

Kieran O’ Brien (MMA Clinic) vs Tommy Martin (SBG)

Team Munster. Vs Team Leinster Amateur 

Bantamweight: Paul Wallace (MMA Clinic) vs Kyle Comerford (Kilkenny MMA)

Bantamweight: Ikhtiyar Asmatullayev (Tralee MMA) vs Ian Cleary (Primal MMA)

Featherweight: Gary Wallace (Waterford MMA) vs Martin Downey (Team Balance)

Amateur Featherweight Division:

Tim O Leary (MMA Clinic) vs Scobie Burke (Coolmine MA)

Amateur Lightweight Division:

Andrew Murphy (Waterford MMA) vs Chris Bouchard (Team Ryano)

Amateur Bantamweight Division:

Dylan Sheehan (Fermoy Fight Factory) vs Dean Knight (Legends)

Amateur Featherweight Division:

Jack O Leary (MMA Clinic) vs Paul Healy (K2C)

Amateur Lightweight Division:

Kj Carrig (Churchfield Thai) vs Evan Brophy (Shark Bait MMA)

Amateur Lightweight Division:

Liam og Griffin (K2C) vs Gelegonya Szabolcs (Cork Sambo)

Amateur Welterweight Division:

Keith mc cabe (Balance) v Darragh Murray (Predator MMA)

Amateur Welterweight Division:

Cian Smith (MMA Clinic) vs Kiefer Crosbie (SBG)

Amateur Featherweight Division:

Wayne Fitzgerald (Fermoy Fight Factory) vs Luke Daly (Churchfield Thai)

Amateur Flyweight Division: Shane Marum (Tuatha de Danan) vs Grant Carroll (Kyuzo)

Amateur Flyweight Division:

Marlon Forde (MMA Clinic) vs Yerick Kelly (K2C)

Amateur Featherweight Division:

Jason Barry (MMA Clinic) vs John Healy (Churchfield Thai Boxing)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s